New Year, New Job!

So hello everyone, it’s been a while!

Yes we are still alive here in London and things are going well. Quite well this year infact….

I’ve been completely quiet on here for a while, since moving for the third time in London finally wore me out a bit. And then things hadn’t exactly been going smoothly; like the fact it took us nearly 3 months to get the internet (yes, in this day and age can you believe it!) and lots of boring things to do with the electric and gas. So up until December, we’d pretty much lost all faith in humanity. It’s hard to believe that we’ve been living here in Dalston for over 6 months now – the time goes so fast!

On the upside though, we are finally getting over some of the teething problems in the flat and it’s really starting to feel like a home! Our new flat is still quite small, but it does the job just fine for me and Luke. The best part is we actually have a balcony – ah precious outdoor space! Normally outdoor space is a bit hard to come by in our budget, so we are really lucky to have a little area to eat and drink outside and hopefully grow some vegetables this summer. With us moving in towards the end of Summer, we haven’t yet had all that much chance to use it, but it is so nice being able to have a pizza and a drink out there on an evening. Even though there is a truly terrible jazz band that practices most nights just outside. I know jazz is meant to be funky and that – but I’m talking about one bum note after the other! There is a busker though, that plays his saxophone round the corner which is nice, even if his repertoire only consists of about two songs.

We just nicely live opposite the tube station as well, which makes it really handy for me to get to work and for us to travel around.

It’s been really exciting buying our own furniture (and pricey). We managed to make some really good finds at the Vintage Furniture Flea /http://www.judysvintagefair.co.uk/furniture/  in Bethnal Green. We love our foldable formica table and little retro coffee table.

Biggest thing was the sofa – it had to be perfect. We really wanted a retro/scandinavian style sofa, but they aren’t really that comfortable, so we settled with a nice mustard number from Cargo.

I also found some beaten up old school chairs in a charity shop for a tenner, so I gave them a bit of love and dip-dyed the legs.

Another of my projects was our lamp, which I found for free; Gave it a good spray paint and I think it looks quite good. Saved us about £50 as well!

My newest project is my craft table, which I finally bought the other week, so now I have a lovely little craft corner to work in. We painted the trestles and I think it looks quite fun now!

Best news is that I finally have a new job, wahoo! And I have finally left libraries – I thought I’d be working in a library forever. . I’m now working at Miss Patina, a brand that I really love so I’m really excited to be joining them. It’s a bit scary though, seeing as though I’ve wanted to work in fashion for so long now; so it finally feels like I’m getting somewhere. And it’s be my first ever job were I don’t have work weekends, yay!

Me and Luke are also taking part in Run Hackney, a half marathon around Hackney and the Olympic Village. I’m really nervous and this is the biggest challenge we’ve ever set ourselves, but we’re both really looking forward to it. It’s in May if anyone fancies coming along to cheer us on and we’ll get a donation page set up if anyone would be kind enough to sponsor us 🙂

Frances x

Leave a Reply

